Thursday, August 04, 2005

The Great Carbohydrate Debate

Dr. Richard K. Bernstein, MD, author of Dr. Bernstein's Diabetes Solution will be a guest on the show dLife on August 14, 2005. His appearance is scheduled during the segment titled "The Great Carbohydrate Debate."

The show will air on CNBC at 7:00 PM ET, 6:00 PM CT, and 4:00 PM PT. Check your local listings for details.

If you're not able to catch the show, this is one of the many books I recommend, especially if you have diabetes.

Dr. Bernstein carefully explains not only the disease and human metabolism in an easy to understand style, he also provides scientifically supported approaches to managing the progression of the disease and a comprehensive look at the various therapies available. He discusses diet, types of insulin and their uses, and the importance of establishing a close relationship with one's physician.

His dietary advice is a departure from established medical advice for diabetics to eat a low-fat diet...he recommends high fat, high protein, low-carbohydrate approach that is in direct conflict with the recommendations from the American Diabetes Association and the American Heart Association. He credits his approach with his own health and well-being for almost 60-years with Type I diabetes and cites numerous examples from his case files of patients - at 70 he is still a practicing physician in New York!

Dr. Bernstein's life story is remarkable and inspiring - it can be read here: My Life with Diabetes.

While not everyone will agree with Dr. Bernstein's approach to managing diabetes, all should be aware of why he is passionate about his approach and the scientific evidence supporting it.

1 comment:

  1. Wow--this guy's story is incredible--and frustrating to hear, too! I'm glad he was able to rescue himself from this dreadful disease and begin spreading the word around about diabetes self-monitoring. What a story.
    Adam

    ReplyDelete